Adventures in Disneyland Part 1

August 24, 2009

Our vacation this summer was to the Happiest Place on Earth. I have to admit I didn’t think it was going to be as fun as it was. Back in April when we were talking about summer vacay’s I had my mind set on an elaborate trip to Vegas, sans the children, to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. I had found some great deals and was really excited about going, but Dave was not that interested

I think of Vegas as a place to pamper yourself: go to the spa, sit by the pool, eat some good meals, purchase a designer handbag  or 2 if you win big, gamble your face off. Blackjack, roulette, slot machines….I love it!

Dave has enjoyed many a good time in Vegas but it was with his boyz and they were up to all types of shenanigans and tomfoolery and survived on 2 hours of sleep and a (ahem) “liquid diet”. So I have had a little trouble convincing him that “Vegas is your friend”

I noticed a promotion for Disneyland, buy 3 days get 2 for free (hotel and park entry), I mentioned it to Dave and he booked the trip that night. Wait…..what about Vegas? DENIED! Well it’s also Sam’s 4th Birthday, so I set aside my dreams of winning big money while drinking free Bloody Mary’s and I prepared myself for Mickey Mouse, Tinkerbell and $20 light up toys that every parent hates to buy. I mean seriously we buy that junk at 8:00 at night when the kids are spent, and they should really be asleep. We want so desperately for them to see the parade and enjoy it that we will buy them anything they want. Even if , when you hand over your Jackson (Andrew Jackson, that it) you feel a little like you just took it in the “A”.  Talk about getting  worked! Those toys last approximately 4 hours before they break.

Wait, wait, I digress. We had a great time and at some point, I will post some highlights from my trip. Warning: Posts will be stereotypical “My kid is so cute”, go ahead and puke now. But hey, when you are at Disneyland those are exactly the memories you are there to make!

Peace

Leave a Reply

