I promise I’m not a stalker

July 15, 2009

I am fairly new to social networking, via the Facebook. I enjoy finding friends from high school and college and reconnecting with them. I have even met up with a few old friends and enjoyed a cup of coffee with them while we fill each other in on our lives.

Here is the thing I don’t get. When your friends on facebook post pictures, status updates, etc, are we not supposed to comment about it when you run into them in person? On several occasions I have commented on something I saw, asked about a trip recently taken, and have even recognized a friend’s kid at the playground. Nearly every time, (unless it’s a good friend), people look at me like I’m a freak. I do admit I have a fantastic memory for all things unneccessary. I can remember many events from the past and probably what you were wearing on that occassion. I’m not on facebook all day long, but I will look at pictures that were recently posted, so if I run into you chances are I’m going to comment.

Moving forward, should I keep my mouth shut and pretend I didn’t know you recently moved, your kid lost a tooth, you went to Thailand? Geez people, stop posting shit, if you don’t want me to talk about it! 

I just want to clear up one thing, I am not a facebook stalker, I am just a mom taking some time to unwind. Thank you for keeping things interesting but in the future I will pretend I know nothing about it!

2 Responses to “I promise I’m not a stalker”

  1. Molly Says:

    That is so funny! I feel the same way. I love seeing what everyone is doing, but don’t really talk about it to people to prevent the stalker title!

  2. Anne-Marie Says:

    So true!! I totally agree. What’s worse is when people who are your Facebook “friends” act like they’re too good to talk to you in person when they’re all about you on Facebook.


Leave a Reply

