TV Time

May 19, 2009

I watch a lot of crappy TV shows. Hey, at least I admit it! My line-up consists mostly of reality shows: American Idol, Real Housewives, Dancing with the Stars, The Hills. Actually I’ll watch anything on MTV which is sad since I haven’t been in their demographic for at least the past 5 years but probably more like 10. What is it with these shows? Okay so at least AI and DWTS are competition shows, we hope that our votes really do count and the winner wasn’t predetermined at the beginning of the season by the show producers. The Hills and Real Housewives is an entirely different beast. THESE SHOW ARE FAKE. I know this but I still watch. It isn’t a secret that producers put the cast in situations that are created and dialogue is “loosely” scripted. Yet I still get sucked in. I still watch over and over again. I watch the first night it’s aired, I watch the next day when it is re-aired, I watch the marathons. By the time the season is over I have watched each episode at least 3 times but probably more. Sometimes I can barely stay awake to the end and I know I could watch again tommorrow but my mind won’t rest until I know. Did Lauren and Heidi make-up? Did Spencer cheat on Heidi? Did Bethany get revenge on that crazy model bitch? Is the remodel complete on the Brooklyn townhouse? My husband, Dave, constantly lectures me on my TV program choices. He thinks I’m wasting precious brain cells on pointless trash. He’s probably right, but I don’t care. I tell him that I spend all day making sure our kids are clean, fed, and safe. That’s a tough job. By the end of the day I just want to escape and this is the best way I know how. 

The Real Housewives of New Jersey premiered this week. I actually didn’t plan to watch this one. It looked at little too … well … Jersey. But after the Real Housewives of NYC reunion show I stayed awake to watch a bit. And let me tell you:  THIS SEASON WILL BE AWESOME! These ladies are too much and it is going to be juicy. Like all the Housewives, they come from money and own glorious homes, fancy cars, tacky furniture and tons of jewelry.  But I think what makes this even more interesting is how they really make their money. One family owns and operates a “resort”, another is in “construction”, one husband is “ALWAYS working”…hmmmm. I don’t think we will ever really know, but let’s just say …… “forgetabout-it”. (wink, wink)

housewives_newjersey_l

6 Responses to “TV Time”

  1. Kristen Says:

    I can’t believe that you made no mention of your fellow reality tv loving neighbor who knows more about this than any other man I know….

  2. Romie Says:

    OMG. I watched only 30 minutes of the first episode so far, and I’m already completely hooked!! How can I not watch something about Jersey?! I love it!! I never watched any others except OC.

    This season is going to be awesome. 🙂

  3. Cory Says:

    First off, I think we can all agree that The Hills is an excellent show. Yes, I also admit it. Tell Dave he doesn’t know what he’s missing. If he’s correct though, I must have the mental capacity of a child. Mindless channel surfing, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

  4. Jennie Says:

    I cannot throw a reality stone as I live in a glass house where Tori & Dean: Home Sweet Hollywood plays. I also don’t think Dave would be too impressed with my weekly People/US magazine habit! I guess that’s why they call them guilty pleasures:)

  5. Cheryl Says:

    “A little too Jersey” What does that mean??? =) For the record Jersey is nothing like how these women portray it….well at least from my rose-colored glasses!!! I didn’t want to like it…I thought it would give us Jersey Girls a bad name but it is good and certainly entertaining. They need to get a bunch more episodes in the can soon because five weeks is not enough!


Leave a Reply

